Education Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (E-SPLOST)

  • On Nov. 19, 2019, Paulding County voters approved a five-year renewal of the school district’s E-SPLOST (Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax for Education). The E-SPLOST is a one-cent sales tax collected over five years to fund capital projects for schools including:

    • New schools
    • Classroom additions
    • Renovations and modifications
    • New technology
    • Land purchases
    • Debt retirement

    The school district uses a combination of E-SPLOST funds and operating funds for capital needs. Over the past several years the district has completed classroom additions at Russom Elementary School and Moses Middle School, with multiple renovation and modification projects completed or under way at Hiram High School, Dobbins Middle School, and Allgood Elementary School. Additionally, E-SPLOST is funding renovation and upgrade projects at athletic facilities at every Paulding County high school.