Capital Improvements Presentation to BOE April 26, 2022

  • On Nov. 19, 2019, Paulding County voters approved a five-year renewal of the school district’s E-SPLOST (Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax for Education). The E-SPLOST is a one-cent sales tax collected over five years to fund capital projects for schools including:

    • New schools
    • Classroom additions
    • Renovations and modifications
    • New technology
    • Land purchases
    • Debt retirement

    Information about E-SPLOST can be found by clicking the “What is E-SPLOST” link at left. Financial information regarding the current E-SPLOST VI and previous E-SPLOST programs can be found by clicking the link to the Business Services E-SPLOST Financial Info.

    The school district uses a combination of E-SPLOST funds and operating funds for capital needs. Over the past several years the district has completed classroom additions at Russom Elementary School and Moses Middle School, with multiple renovation and modification projects completed or under way at Hiram High School, Dobbins Middle School, and Allgood Elementary School. Additionally, E-SPLOST is funding renovation and upgrade projects at athletic facilities at every Paulding County high school.

    The next phase of E-SPLOST VI will be announced to the public in the coming weeks and will include a communication plan to inform district stakeholders and maintain a transparent process of completing projects as promised and approved by voters in the 2019 E-SPLOST public referendum.