HB 251 Public School Choice

  • Student Transfer Procedures, Guidelines & Application

    House Bill 251 for the 2020-2021 school year will open January 31, 2020 at 9:00 AM


    All children residing in Paulding County are required to enroll in the school of the attendance area in which they reside, unless special authorization is given by the Superintendent or designee. Attendance areas (school zones) are designated by the Board of Education.

    The District will not provide transportation for a student attending school outside his/her attendance area, unless the student is assigned to another school as a part of his/her Individual Education Plan (IEP).

    Special needs students will be assigned to schools from the central office level based on which schools have the programs needed to implement the student's Individual Education Plan (IEP).

    Information about the School Choice Law (House Bill 251)

    K-12 public school parents and guardians in Georgia may elect to enroll their child in a school within the local school district in which they now reside other than the one to which the student has been assigned by the local board of education; providing a school has classroom space available after its assigned students have been enrolled.

    The parent shall assume the responsibility and cost of transportation for the student to and from school.

    In compliance with HB 251, the Paulding County School District has provided notification and information about the District’s process. Applications will be made available at 9:00 AM on January 31, 2020. The deadline for submission will be close of business (5:00 PM) February 14, 2020.

    Additional information regarding open schools, parent notifications and framework will be available on this web page beginning January 20, 2020.

    Application will be available January 31, 2020.